The Twelve Apostles (Matthew 10:1-15)

The Twelve Apostles (Matthew 10:1-15)

This stunning east window is found in the church of St Mary and St Michael in East London. It’s mostly focused on the apostles – the twelve disciples that Christ called to specially share and continue his mission.

On the top row (from left to right) are St Thomas, St James the Major, St Peter, St Andrew, St James the Minor and St Philip. On the middle row (from left to right) are St Bartholomew, St Matthew, the Blessed Virgin (instead of Judas Iscariot), St John, St Simon and St Jude. On the bottom row are the two apostles appointed later – St Paul and St Matthias – along with other popular saints. Most of the apostles are shown with their relevant symbol – for example, St Peter with his keys, St Andrew with his cross, St Matthew with his gospel and so on.

At the very top of the window are the four major prophets – Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel and Daniel. Beneath the crucified Christ – and partially hidden by the altarpiece – is the church’s patron saint, Michael the Archangel. The window dates to 1957 and is by Hardman & Co. It formed part of the post-war reconstruction of the church, following significant bombing of the East End.

See the full image:

dscn2837_fotorHardman & Co. / The Twelve Apostles with other saints / Stained glass / 1957

Where to find this work of art
St Mary and St Michael’s, Shadwell

Read the relevant passage
Matthew 10:1-15

One thought on “The Twelve Apostles (Matthew 10:1-15)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s